P2 Recipe- Strawberry Basil Vinaigrette

Standard

Ok, so I can’t take all the credit for this recipe. I found it at HCG Diet Recipes Made Simple and made modifications to my liking. I hope you enjoy it… I know I’ll be using it on LOTS of things both in Phase 2 and out. The recipe on her site calls for cayenne and while I tried the recipe with it, it added a warmth that I don’t really like in my salad. I would definitely keep it in for a marinade or something. She also said it yields 8 servings but, I couldn’t get more than 4 and I probably would have been okay only splitting it 3 times but, doing 4 means you use 1 strawberry per serving which works out just great. ENJOY!

Strawberry Basil Vinaigrette
(4 servings) 
4 strawberries, hulled and quartered
1 Tbl Apple Cider Vinegar
1 Tbl Lemon Juice
2 Tbl Water
1 large or 2 small Basil leaves
Stevia to taste
Salt & Pepper to taste
(optional- up to 1/4tsp cayenne pepper)
 
1) Place all ingredients except Stevia, Salt & Pepper into blender, or food processor and blend until smooth. (I used a large glass measuring cup and an immersion blender)
2) Taste vinaigrette and add Stevia, Salt & Pepper to taste.
3) Slather on Salad w/ remaining strawberry servings & Protein or use as a marinade or sauce on meats & ENJOY!
 
(I also suspect that cooked down into a syrup this would be AMAZING on P3 friendly pancakes… maybe a little more Stevia and a little less acid… YUM!)
About mindyp679

This is a log of my weight loss journey on HCG. I started this journey the heaviest I’ve ever been… so much so that my weight wouldn’t even register on a Weight Watchers scale. After my 2 days of loading I hit a high of 335.8lbs. I have more than 160lbs to lose to reach my goal and it will be a long time coming. Please feel free to offer encouragement and tips to help me stay motivated as I lose my way to 175! I hope this page will serve as an encouragement to others who are also on their own weight loss journey. God Bless you in your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

